Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Want some expert opinions about this subject.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Want some expert opinions about this subject.

Hello,

I am brand new here and this is my second post and was looking for some help. A little bit of background on me, I have a BAAS degree in Web and Media Design, I am currently working on a big project for work. It is nice but my wife made a suggestion as well.

Here are my questions:
    1. What software programs do you really need to know to be able to get freelance work?
    2. If you are doing free lance work on the side, how did you get started?
    3. How much do you charge? I am not expecting to get rich building websites, if that was the case we all be rich right? I want to make sure I am kind of the ball park area.
    4. What free sites would you suggest that are good at learning some programming skills that might help me out in the long run.
    5. Last question that I have is this if you are running a successful freelance out there, were you able to work at it full time and work for yourself instead of someone else.

I am a little older at 42, but should have been doing more coding all these years than I have. I am not sure if this is in the right area or no if it is not my apologies and same if it has been answered before. Thanks for your help.

Hi Omar and a warm welcome to the forums.

I've done a little freelancing as a full stack developer (HTML, CSS, JS, PHP, MySQL etc) and now work for a large advertising agency in central London, UK on a permanent basis.
    There's a huge demand for freelancer devs in London, some getting up to 500 / day depending on how good you are, so yes, there's really good money to be made and plenty of work, at least here in the south of England.