PDA

View Full Version : Can it be true?


Insyder
06-25-2001, 11:44 PM
I found this site through a link and something seems fishy about it. if offers unlimited space and bandwidth. i am very tired and am probably missing something about hidden costs or something along those lines. has anybody heard of these poeple or related sites? the url is:
http://www.megagiga.com/

Paul
06-25-2001, 11:48 PM
Looks good and I don't see any hidden costs. I'm not sure if they host banners on your site. What's crappy is they lack many features such as, no CGI, you cannot put banners on top of your page, and propably a couple other things.
Good Luck,
Paul

joelmoss
06-26-2001, 11:48 AM
I give a big warning against any company who claims to offer "Unlimited Bandwidth". It is not possible!

They will have something in the terms and conditions that says they can charge you or kick you off if you are using too much.

Just make sure that you read teir terms very carefully.

pixelmonkey
06-26-2001, 11:55 AM
Originally posted by joelmoss
I give a big warning against any company who claims to offer "Unlimited Bandwidth". It is not possible!
and that's why you purchase your own server and hope it's enough!
chris<pixelmonkey>:monkey:

Mark
06-26-2001, 12:26 PM
Originally posted by joelmoss
I give a big warning against any company who claims to offer "Unlimited Bandwidth". It is not possible!

They will have something in the terms and conditions that says they can charge you or kick you off if you are using too much.

Just make sure that you read teir terms very carefully. Nearly every free hoster says that bandwidth is unlimited, although it can't be. They just say that so people can join them, to which most do.

I also agree with the :monkey: that if you run your own business you should get your own server. It's better that way.

I find the above company tricky, howcome they can offer all those things? It seems impossible! Does anyone know how long they are in this business?

Jason
06-26-2001, 01:07 PM
Without a doubt you are taking your chances with promises like these. They are the "red flags" that you should look out for:

http://123webmaster.com/Onsite/Management/WebhostRedFlags.html

cfhosting
07-15-2001, 02:31 PM
they do offer unlimited space and bandwitdth, they will install more for you even, but you have to offer co-branded hosting and they put banners on members pages and the 404 pages redirect you to their sponsors with no 404 error. They "staff" of 1 guy is an ididot. dont go there

huythuy
07-25-2001, 02:41 PM
Originally posted by Insyder16
if offers unlimited space and bandwidth
http://www.megagiga.com/

it's not unmilited , after registered and go to your site you will be see a index.html say you have 10Mb

Paul
07-25-2001, 02:48 PM
Originally posted by huythuy


it's not unmilited , after registered and go to your site you will be see a index.html say you have 10Mb
10MB Bandwidth, that's propably less than 100 pageviews a day. Never seen anything this low.

prodeveloping
07-25-2001, 05:32 PM
I think he means 10MB of space. Not bandwidth.

Paul
07-25-2001, 05:59 PM
Originally posted by prodeveloping
I think he means 10MB of space. Not bandwidth.
Oh

cfhosting
07-29-2001, 04:28 PM
80 k file size limits but bandwidth is supposed to be unlimited but is truly not anywhere near. I got kicked off after using 10 megs of bandwidth. These guys can run a company.

cloud9
07-30-2001, 01:30 PM
If the above is true, then this is quite possibly the worst hosting deal ever.

What I can't understand is, why people don't pay $80 or whatever per year to get good hosting with cgi, etc. no banners and a stable, good web address. You get what you pay for, so pay for it!

Insyder
07-30-2001, 01:34 PM
hey cloud, i actually i do pay that $100 a year. hosting is pretty cheap and so i do pay for all of that. i just saw the site and was wondering how this was actually possible. thanks for everyone's replies.