PDA

View Full Version : 123-reg.co.uk legit?


ba_rave
05-23-2001, 11:24 AM
i found a company selling domain names for £2.89 do you think this is for real or is a scam with hidden costs? please reply as i want to sign up a domain if this is truly that cheap.
Thanx in Advance.
Chris.

Jason
05-23-2001, 04:42 PM
Since their advertised price is 39p, it looks to be legit, the hidden portion of it is this fee:

* + registration fee: £2.50 per year (US Domains: £6.70) Prices Exclude VAT

I'm not super familar with your currency, so I can't tell you if this is a good deal or not... this would equate to £7.09 for a .com...I don't know the dollar exchange.

Mark
05-23-2001, 06:05 PM
Here's a place at Yahoo! where you can convert:

http://finance.yahoo.com/m3?u

Thats about $3.55 U.S. (Checked on May 23,2001)

Seems like a good deal, but I wouldn't buy it.

Jason
05-23-2001, 06:22 PM
Doesn't ICANN charge more than that from their registrars? Something doesn't seem quite right. I signed up for an account so that I could login into their members area, and found that they are also trying to resell web hosting, but they are not requiring it. I would be cautious with these guys.

whkoh
05-24-2001, 05:29 AM
Maybe they're legit, but I wouldn't use them too. These registrars tend to go down easily.